Halloween Manicure with Moon Glitter Pumpkin Polish

Tonight is another Halloween inspired manicure.  I used Revlon’s Black With Envy which has been called a dupe for Chanels Black Pearl.  I looked up other bloggers swatches and they are similar but not exact dupes.  The Black With Envy was a little sheer so I used 3 coats, it wasn’t hard to apply, but I was attending to puppies and typing while polishing so I had a few mistakes, but knew I was going to cover it up anyway.
Next I applied a coat of the Pumpkin Polishes Moon Glitter, you really do not get a large piece of glitter each time you polish a nail, so I had to dig some out of the bottle and apply them as random as I could.  This polish also had some small silver and black glitters too.  It to me wasn’t noticeable enough so I applied a coat of China Glaze Fairy Dust to the top.  I’ve always said, when all else fails, apply Fairy Dust.

I topped the final mani off with 2 coats of Seche Vite and it ended up being so thick, it was like having on fake nails.  Even with the Seche Vite, this many layers takes a while to dry.  I should have applied the fast drying top coat between layers.  Later I put on gloves to do some cleaning and when I removed them I could tell something was wrong, I took a finger and was able to push the whole manicure off my finger leaving just a little of the Black With Envy behind.  I think it would have been ok if I hadn’t wore the gloves and let it dry overnight.

Polishes used left to right:  China Glaze Fairy Dust, Pumpkin Polish
Moon Glitter and Revlon Black with Envy.
I would have enjoyed being able to wear this manicure longer, the rainbow colors of the moons and Fairy Dust really showed up more in person.  Next time when attempting a manicure with this many layers, I will try using a fast dry top coat between layers and do it when I know I won’t have anything else to do later.  What do you think about this?  Any comments or suggestions?

8 thoughts on “Halloween Manicure with Moon Glitter Pumpkin Polish

  1. Love the pumpkin polish! It's super cute 🙂 I am in love with my bottle of Fairy Dust, it just makes everything gorgeous and sparkly 🙂 It's a great mani, too bad it came off 😦 I've had those kind of fails with thicker manis.

Leave a Reply

